• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Rajya Sabha Election 2020 updates: BJP bags 8 seats, Congress 4

By Anuj Cariappa

New Delhi, June 19: The Bharatiya Janata arty has won eight of the 19 Rajya Sabha seats up for vote in the biennial election held in eight states on Friday. The Congress has won four.

The BJP bagged three seats in Gujarat, two in Madhya Pradesh and one in Rajasthan, Jharkhand and Manipur each. The Congress, meanwhile, took home two seats in Rajasthan and one in Madhya Pradesh and Gujarat each.

Rajya Sabha Election 2020: Polling for 19 seats today, close contest likely in Gujarat, MP, Raj

Stay tuned for all the LIVE updates:

Newest First Oldest First
11:19 PM, 19 Jun
The BJP wins three Rajya Sabha seats in Gujarat, while the Congress wins one. Abhay Bharadwaj, Ramila Bara and Narhari Amin won from the BJP. From the Congress, Shaktisinh Gohil won.
10:19 PM, 19 Jun
The issues raised by the Gujarat Congress before the Election Commission have been dismissed on the grounds of not having merit. Counting of votes has now begin.
8:43 PM, 19 Jun
Mizo National Front candidate K Vanlalvena elected to the lone Rajya Sabha seat from Mizoram in a triangular contest after polling was held today.
8:23 PM, 19 Jun
Leader of Opposition Paresh Dhanani said the Congress has sought cancellation of votes cast by BJP MLA Kesrisinh Solanki and minister Bhupendrasinh Chudasama.
8:23 PM, 19 Jun
Counting of votes for four Rajya Sabha seats in Gujarat was delayed on Friday as the Congress demanded that the Election Commission invalidate two BJP votes on different grounds.
7:31 PM, 19 Jun
Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) President Shibu Soren and BJP state President Deepak Prakash were sent to sent to the Upper House from Jharkhand after Rajya Sabha polls were held on Friday.
7:28 PM, 19 Jun
Veteran Congress leader Digvijaya Singh and BJP candidates Jyotiraditya Scindia and Sumer Singh Solanki on Friday won Rajya Sabha election from Madhya Pradesh
6:47 PM, 19 Jun
Congress wins 2 seats from Rajasthan in Rajya Sabha elections, while BJP has won 1 seat.
6:47 PM, 19 Jun
Rajya Sabha Elections: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) wins 2 seats from Madhya Pradesh and Congress has won 1 seat.
6:33 PM, 19 Jun
The YSRCP wins all four Rajya Sabha seats in Andhra Pradesh.
6:26 PM, 19 Jun
I returned to India y'day & before coming here I took a COVID test. As an MLA, it was my duty to vote & I cast my vote in a separate enclosure. Today, I took a COVID-19 test, its result is negative. Opposition has no issue so they're making this an issue: Cong MLA Wajib Ali
6:26 PM, 19 Jun
BJP MLA Ramlal Sharma writes to Returning Officer demanding criminal case against Cong MLA Wajib Ali (in PPE kit) for violating COVID19 quarantine norms & casting his vote in today's Rajya Sabha elections after his recent return from Australia on a repatriation flight.
6:25 PM, 19 Jun
Four invalid votes were identified in during counting in Andhra Pradesh.
6:25 PM, 19 Jun
National People's Party candidate WR Kharlukhi wins Rajya Sabha seat from Meghalaya.
6:24 PM, 19 Jun
The lone BJP MLA in Mizoram did not vote in the elections for the single Rajya Sabha seat.
6:24 PM, 19 Jun
The BJP wins the Rajya Sabha seat from Manipur.
5:50 PM, 19 Jun
The Congress has nominated K C Venugopal and Neeraj Dangi for the polls, while the BJP has fielded Rajendra Gehlot and Onkar Singh Lakhawat.
5:50 PM, 19 Jun
The polling for three Rajya Sabha seats in the state started at 9 am and got over at 4 pm.
5:50 PM, 19 Jun
Deputy Chief Minister Sachin Pilot claimed that efforts were made to "create confusion" and spread rumour, but the candidates nominated by the AICC are going to win. "Both of our party candidates are going to win and I want to wish them in advance for their victory," he said.
5:49 PM, 19 Jun
The ruling Congress in Rajasthan on Friday expressed confidence that the party will win the Rajya Sabha polls.
5:44 PM, 19 Jun
Gujarat deputy chief minister Nitin Patel on Friday expressed confidence in all three BJP candidates in Gujarat.
3:01 PM, 19 Jun
Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot cast his vote for Rajya Sabha Election, at the state Assembly in Jaipur earlier today.
2:59 PM, 19 Jun
Amaravati: TDP leader and former Andhra Pradesh CM N Chandrababu Naidu casts his vote for Rajya Sabha elections. There are four Rajya Sabha seats in the state.
2:38 PM, 19 Jun
Voting for three vacant Rajya Sabha seats in Madhya Pradesh concluded on Friday afternoon after all the 206 MLAs, including a Congress legislator who has tested COVID-19 positive, cast their votes.
1:44 PM, 19 Jun
Madhya Pradesh Assembly sanitised
1:22 PM, 19 Jun
Madhya Pradesh: A Congress MLA who had tested positive for COVID19, arrives at the state legislative assembly in Bhopal to cast his vote. Voting is currently underway for three Rajya Sabha seats of the state.
1:22 PM, 19 Jun
MLAs of Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) are united & we are very sure to win lone Rajya Sabha seat: Meghalaya CM & National People's Party (NPP) Chief Conrad K Sangma after casting his vote at state Assembly. MDA has fielded NPP leader WR Kharlukhi as its candidate.
1:22 PM, 19 Jun
Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh arrives at the state Assembly to cast his vote for one seat of Rajya Sabha.
11:52 AM, 19 Jun
Both BJP and Congress are hopeful of getting those two crucial votes of the BTP. Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani said, "The BJP and its governments have done numerous things for the welfare of tribals.
11:52 AM, 19 Jun
"We will not give our votes unless and until we get a written assurance. We are an independent party, which keeps distance from both the BJP and the Congress," Mahesh Vasava told reporters. "My father and I have decided not to cast our votes until we get an assurance about the implementation of schedule 5 of the Constitution and PESA Act. Although our votes are important, people whom we represent are more important to us," he added. PESA Act refers to the Panchayats (Extension to Scheduled Areas) Act. "Despite repeated representation to both the parties in the past, they did nothing for the welfare of ST, SC, OBC, minority and migrant workers," he alleged. "We will think about voting only after getting an assurance," Vasava said.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X