• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Protest in Congress over ticket distribution continues; Satyavrat’s son to contest from SP


New Delhi, Nov 9: Rebellion after ticket distribution is a very common phenomenon for every political party. Both the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) are grappling with it but what is little unusual for the Congress in Madhya Pradesh that a senior Congress leader's son has filed nomination from a party that does not have any chance of winning the election and he has support from his father.

Satyavrat Chaturvedi

BJP set to win MP elections for the 4th time says this poll

Senior Congress leaders like Satyavrat Chaturvedi and former state Congress president Arun Yadav are not happy with the Congress' ticket distribution in Madhya Pradesh. Nitin, Son of Chaturvedi, has filed nomination from Rajnagar Assembly constituency as the Samajwadi Party candidate. Yadav is not happy with Ravi Joshi being made Congress candidate from Khargone.

Satyavrat Chaturvedi said, "My son is adult and he is able to take decision for himself therefore whatever he has decided is correct. I am with him as a father. The Congress has made some mistake and the party and people of the region are bearing the brunt of it. But I am with the Congress."

Candidature of Hiralal Alawa from Manawar is also being opposed who has been associated with Jay Yuva Adivashi Shakti (JYAS). Sources said that this is the reason that former chief minister of Madhya Pradesh Digvijay Singh himself will be present at the time of the nomination of Alawa. Similarly, candidates from Indore, Narsinghpur and Balaghat are also being opposed.

Madhya Pradesh elections 2018: BJP releases fourth list of seven candidates

Former MLA Xavier Medha is unhappy with the decision of giving a ticket to MP Kantilal Bhuria's son Vikrant Bhuria from Jhabua. Former MLA of Waraseoni Pradeep Jaiswal was the main contender from there but he was ignored for chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan's brother-in-law Sanjay Singh Masani, who recently joined the Congress. The protest started against it. Hitesh Thakur is opposing candidature of Prabha Singh Gautham wife of Bal Mukund Gautam from Dhar. Hitesh is saying that he has served the party from the past 32 years.

Poll Dates

Ashok Tyagi was made a candidate from Sironj but it was changed due to heavy protest. Sanjay Sharma who has recently joined the Congress recently and will be contesting election from Narsinghpur is also being opposed and Mulayam Singh Kaurav joined the BJP opposing the move. Candidature of Praveen Pathak from Gwalior South is also being opposed and supporters of Rashmi Pawar and Bhagwan Singh Yadav protested outside district Congress office. Former MLA Ramdas Uikey resigned from the Congress opposing ticket to Sunil Uikey from Junnardeo seat. Rajveer Singh Baghek, son of former MLA Rajendra Singh Baghel, is contesting as an independent candidate from Hatpipliyaseat from where he was seeking ticket. The list of resentment is getting large by the day.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more