PM, top celebrities to attend Fadnavis' swearing in ceremony

Posted By: IANS
Subscribe to Oneindia News
PM, top celebrities to attend Fadnavis' swearing in ceremony
Mumbai, Oct 29: The swearing-in ceremony of the BJP's first government in Maharashtra promises to be a grand affair with top personalities and celebs expected at the Wankhede Stadium Oct 31, party officials indicated here Wednesday.

Maharashtra Governor C.V. Rao will administer the oath of office and secrecy to Chief Minister-designate Devendra Fadnavis, 44, and a small initial team of cabinet ministers Friday evening.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP President Amit Shah, union ministers, top BJP leaders and party chief ministers will attend the ceremony.

Earlier, Modi attended the swearing-in of the new government headed by Anandiben Patel in Gujarat May 22, and Haryana's M.L. Khattar last Sunday.

The other prominent personalities invited include Sachin Tendulkar, Amitabh Bachchan, Sunil Gavaskar, top heads of the Ambanis, Tatas, Mahindras, Birlas, consular corps stationed in Mumbai, high court judges and leaders of various political parties.

A massive 100-feet-long stage is being erected in one corner of the stadium, which normally hosts cricket matches and occasionally mega-weddings, with a special seating arrangement for around 2,500 VVIPs, along with unprecedented security arrangements made by Mumbai Police for the event.

Another 30,000-plus party activists and supporters shall be seated on the stands around to witness the historic occasion.

Fadnavis was Tuesday elected the BJP Legislature Party leader, and later staked his claim to form the government with Governor Rao.

He was invited to form the government and has been given 15 days time to prove majority in the legislative assembly since the BJP emerged as the single largest party with 122 legislators in the 288-member assembly - far short of the requisite 145 for a simple majority.

One legislator died early Monday, reducing the part strength to 121. Besides, it has the support of one pre-poll ally Rashtriya Samaj Paksha. The Shiv Sena with 63 MLAs has offered support, while Nationalist Congress Party will abstain from the vote of confidence, ensuring a smooth sailing for the new government.


Please Wait while comments are loading...