• search

Padma awards 2018 announced: Full list of recipients

Subscribe to Oneindia News
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

    In keeping with its mission to honour "unsung heroes", the government announced 85 Padma awards on Thursday. Of these, three were Padma Vibhushan, nine Padma Bhushan, and 73 Padma Shri.

    Padma awards: List of awardees to be announced today

    16 awardees were either foreigners, PIOs, or NRIs, while three of the awards were conferred posthumously

    The list of Padma Shri awardees:

    Arvind Gupta - Literature & education (affordable education)

    Lakshmikutty - Medicine (snake bite)

    Bhajju Shyam - Art (Painting - Gond Art)

    Sudhanshu Biswas - Social service

    MR Rajagopal - Medicine (Palliative Care)

    Murlikant Petkar - Sports

    Rajagopalan Vasudevan - Science & Engineering (Innvoation)

    Subhasini Mistry - Social work

    Vijayalakshmi Navaneethakrishnan - Literature & education (affordable education)

    Sulagatti Narasamma - MedicineYeshi Dhoden - Medicine

    Romulus Whitaker -Others (Wildlife Conservation)

    Rani and Abhay Bang - Medicine (Affordable care)

    Sampath Ramteke - Social Work

    Sanduk Ruit - Medicine (Ophthalmology)

    Anwar Jalalpuri-(Literature and Education)

    Ibrahim Sutar -Arts(Music-Sufi)

    Manas Bihari Verma - Science and Engineering (Defence)

    Sitavva Jodatti - Social Work

    Nouf Marwaai -Others(Yoga)

    V Nanammal - Others(Yoga)

    Padma Shri awardees from ASEAN countries:

    Dr Thant Myint-U of Myanmar (Public Affairs)

    Jose Ma Joey Concepcion III of Philippines (Trade & industry)

    Tommy Koh of Singapore (Public Affairs)

    SomdetPhraAriyaWongsaKhottayan of Thailand (Others)

    Nguyen Tien Thien of Vietnam (Others)

    Malai Haji Abdullah Bin MalaiHaji Othman of Brunei Darussalam (Medicine)

    Hun Many of Cambodia (Public Affairs)

    I NyomanNuarta of Indonesia (Art)

    BounlapKeokangna of Laos (Art)

    DatukRamli Bin Ibraham of Malaysia (Art)

    Padma Vibhushan Award to be conferred upon: 

    Ilayaraja - Art (Music)

    Ghulam Mustafa Khan - Art (Music)

    Parameswaran Parameswaran - Literature & Educatio

    PadmaBhushan 2017 conferred upon:

    Pankaj Advani - Sport (Billiards/Snooker)

    Philipose Mar Chrysostom - Others (Spiritualism)

    Mahendra Singh Dhoni - Sports (Cricket)

    Alexander Kadakin (Foreigner/Posthumous) - Public Affairs

    Ramachandran Nagaswamy - Others (Archaeology)

    Ved Prakash Nanda - Literature and Education

    Laxman Pai - Art (Painting)

    Arvind Parikh - Art (Music)

    Sharda Sinha - Art (Music)

    Established in 1954, the awards are announced on Republic Day each year. 

    The highest award of honour is Padma Vibhushan, followed by Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.

    They are given in different fields and disciplines such as art, literature and education, sports, medicine, social work, science and engineering, public affairs, civil service, trade and industry.

    More than 15,700 people applied for the prestigious awards for 2018, with the government laying stress on honouring the unsung heroes, an official said.

    OneIndia News

    For Breaking News from Oneindia
    Get instant news updates throughout the day.

    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more