Over Rs 297 crore released as development fund to Delhi MLAs in current financial year

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Feb 1: Over Rs 297 crore was released as local area development fund to MLAs in Delhi in the current financial year, a sum which surpasses the stipulated amount of Rs 4 crore given to each constituency, according to an RTI.

The information was given by Delhi's Urban Development department in a reply to an RTI.

New Delhi constituency MLA

Former chief minister and MLA of New Delhi area Arvind Kejriwal was given Rs 4.21 crore for the development of the area, out of the available 4.89 crore.

Out of the Rs 4.21 crore, Rs 3 crore was given to New Delhi Municipal Council, responsible for the upkeep of civic amenities in high-profile Lutyens Delhi area.

The highest amount released in the year 2014-15 was Rs 6.76 crore to BJP MLA Nand Kishore Garg's Trinagar constituency. The MLA LAD (local area development) fund to each MLA for the development of his area was fixed at Rs 4 crore.

AAP MLA Prakash Jarwal's Deoli area got Rs 6.75 crore from the available Rs 6.88 crore for the seat in the year 2014-15. In the same period, Kirari seat's BJP MLA Anil Jha was given Rs 4.69 crore.

Similarly, Sultanpur Majra MLA Jai Kishan was given Rs 3.76 crore out of the available Rs 6.71 crore for his area, the RTI said.

Former Delhi minister Rakhi Birla, representing Mongolpuri, was issued a sum of 4.63 crore for the development of the area, where as Rs 2.21 crore out of the available Rs 4.63 crore was sanctioned for Rohini seat, represented by Rajesh Garg. The available amount for Shalimar Bagh constituency was Rs 7.01 crore, out of which 4.28 crore was released.

According to the information, MLA Shoaib Iqbal's Matiya Mahal constituency was given Rs 5.91 crore while Ballimaran area was released Rs 2.78 crore for its development. Former AAP Minister Manish Sisodia's Patpadganj area was given Rs 3.41 crore out of available Rs 4.15 crore in the year 2014-15.

Gandhi Nagar seat, represented by Congress leader Arvinder Singh Lovely, was given Rs 4 crore for its development. Seemapuri, in north-east Delhi, was alloted Rs 3.25 crore while Seelampur was issued Rs 3.39 crore for their development.

Rs 5.46 crore was released for the development of Tilak Nagar seat and Janakpuri, represented by BJP leader Jagdish Mukhi, was given 4.68 crore. Malviya Nagar, in south Delhi, was released a sum of Rs 4.05 crore out of the available Rs 4.14 crore.

No amount was released for Krishna Nagar seat, now being contested by BJP's chief ministerial candidate Kiran Bedi, out of available Rs 4 crore.

Pravesh Singh Verma's Mehrauli constituency was given a sum of Rs 2.30 crore while Tughlaqabad, represented by Ramesh Bidhuri, was alloted a sum of Rs 2.83 crore. Sangam Vihar was given Rs 5.73 crore, Saurabh Bharadwaj's Greater Kailash Rs 5.09 crore, and Okhla constituency Rs 4.26 crore.


Please Wait while comments are loading...