Opposition moves no-confidence motion against Parsekar govt in Goa

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Panaji, August 2: The Opposition in Goa Legislative Assembly today moved a no-confidence motion on the floor of the House against the BJP-led state government citing various reasons.

 The motion which was tabled today during the ongoing session is signed by 12 members including eight from Congress, three independents and a Goa Vikas party legislator Fransisco Mickky Pacheco.


Congress' Mauvin Godinho and Goa Vikas Party's Caitan Silva refused to sign the motion. The Goa State legislative assembly has 40 members.

"We have taken strong objection to the way Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar and former Speaker Rajendra Arlekar were trying to handle the Assembly. Speaker Anant Shet has completely failed to govern the session," Leader of Opposition Pratapsinh Rane told mediapersons here after submitting the motion.

He said the motion also opposes that State Public Works Department Minister Ramakrishna Dhavalikar's demand to raise water tariff by five per cent on the floor of the House.

Independent legislator Vijai Sardesai claimed that several questions tabled by the Opposition members are converted from starred to unstarred category so that they are not taken up for discussion on the floor of the House.

He alleged the Speaker has completely failed to control the Assembly proceedings which are "hijacked" by Parsekar and Arlekar.


Please Wait while comments are loading...