Notification issued for first phase of LS polls

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News
New Delhi, Mar 14: The notification for Lok Sabha polls in five constituencies in Assam and one in Tripura in the first phase on April 7 was issued on Friday.

The notification was issued by President Pranab Mukherjee.

Tezpur, Kaliabor, Jorhat, Dibrugarh and Lakhimpur seats in Assam, and Tripura (West) constituency will go for polls on April 7.

While March 21 is the last date for filing nominations, scrutiny of the papers will be held the next day. Candidates in these constituencies can withdraw nominations by March 24.

The polling hours have been fixed as 7 AM to 5 PM. Saturday, March 15, will see issue of notifications for 93 constituencies spread across 18 states going to polls on April 9 and 10.

On April 9, seven constituencies in five states and on April 10, 86 constituencies in 13 states--including Delhi which has seven seats--will elect Lok Sabha members.

The nine-phased polling exercise will end on May 12 and counting of votes will be held on May 16.


Please Wait while comments are loading...