• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Next Manipur CMs: Here are the probables

By Vicky
Google Oneindia News

Biren Singh and T Biswajith are in the race to become the next Chief Minister of Manipur. The party's top leadership will take a final on the matter. The BJP is set to form the next government in Manipur. This is for the first time that the BJP is setting up a government in the North Eastern state of Manipur.

Hectic meetings are underway to decide on who the next CM of Manipur would be. An announcement is likely to be made by the end of the day.

BJP supporters celebrate the party's victory in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand, Manipur and Goa elections

The BJP since Saturday sounded confident that it would form the government in Manipur. The Congress has been crying foul over not being invited to form the government despite it being the single largest party with 28 seats. The BJP has 21 MLAs.

Before the Congress could even stake a claim to form the government, several members moved into the BJP's camp which gave the party the numbers to form the government and also get an invitation from the Governor. Several Congress MLAs and the lone Trinamool Congress MLA Tongbram Robindro Singh moved over to the BJP camp.

Prior to this development the BJP had the support of the Lok Janshakti Party from Langthabal, four candidates each from the National People's Party and the Nagaland People's Front. This changed the number game dramatically for the Congress. The party leaders met with the Governor and staked a claim, but it is falling short of 2 MLAs to get to the magic number of 31 in the 60 member house.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Best Deals and Discounts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X