• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

MP and Odisha bypolls 2018: Over 70 per cent voting in 2 constituencies in Madhya Pradesh

By Chennabasaveshwar

Voting for bypolls took place in two key assembly constituencies in Madhya Pradesh and Odisha's Bijepur assembly seat. 77.05 per cent and 70.40 percent voting turnout was recorded in Mungaoli and Kolaras respectively. In Odisha's Bijepur bypoll, 72 per cent polling was recorded till 5pm.

The by-elections in Madhya Pradesh are seen as providing an opportunity to gauge the mood of the state that will go for assembly elections this year. Both seats are currently held by the Congress.

MP and Odisha bypolls 2018 (LIVE): 35 per cent voting recorded in Bijepur

The Congress has fielded Mahendra Singh Yadav from Kolaras and Brijendra Singh Yadav from Mungaoli, while the BJP has fielded Baisahab Yadav from Mungaoli and Devendra Jain from Kolaras.

Both the BJP and Congress are confident of the victory on the two seats, that fall under Guna Lok Sabha constituency, the pocket-borough of Congress stalwart Jyotiraditya Scindia.

The bypolls were necessitated due to the death of sitting Congress MLAs Mahendra Singh Kalukheda (Mungaoli) and Ram Singh Yadav (Kolaras).

For Scindia, retaining both the seats in his home turf is a battle of prestige as he is positioning himself as the chief ministerial candidate of the Congress. Aware of the high stakes involved, the Gwalior royal has been constantly touring these two seats in a bid to ward off the saffron challenge.

In Odisha, district of Bargarh has seen more union ministers, parliamentarians, MLAs, film stars, politicians than any poll in Odisha might have ever witnessed.

Odisha's two union ministers, Dharmendra Pradhan and Jual Oram, have led BJP's campaign in the district. Smriti Irani addressed three rallies. Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik spent a night in the constituency during his hectic two-day schedule of rallies. This is the last bypoll in the state before the 2019 general elections.

The by-poll is necessitated due to death of Congress MLA Subal Sahu. BJD candidate Rita Sahu, Pranay Sahu of Congress and BJP's Ashok Panigrahi are in the fray. For the first time, Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) machines will be used in the Bijepur by-poll.

Counting for all the three assembly constituencies will be held on February 28.

Stay tuned for Live Updates:

Read More

Read more for Bijepur Assembly bypoll:

Bijepur byelection: BJP accuses CMO officials of meddling in poll affairs

Bijepur Assembly bypoll: Padampur SDPO transferred ahead of elections

Watch: Man throws shoes at Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik in Bargarh; thrashed later

Bijepur byelection: BJD will get fitting response, says Dharmendra Pradhan

Read more for Madhya Pradesh Assembly bypoll:

MP: Mungaoli, Kolaras bypolls to be conducted on Feb 24

MP bypoll 2018: BJP MLA booked for poll code violation

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more