MLAs elected as MPs yet to file resignation in Assembly

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Jaipur, May 28: The Rajasthan Assembly has far not received resignations from any of the four MLAs who were elected as MPs in the recently-concluded Lok Sabha polls, its Speaker today said.

"Assembly has not received so far any resignation of four BJP MLAs who were elected as MPs in Lok Sabha polls, though there is time limit of 14 days after results for the elected members to retain one out of two memberships in either of the houses", Assembly Speaker Kailash Meghwal told reporters.

Of BJP's four MLAs, Sanwarlal Jat was elected as MP from Ajmer, Santosh Ahlawat from Jhunjhunu, Om Birla from Kota and Bahadur Koli from Bharatpur LS seats.

If any one of them opt to retain LS seat, he or she has to tender resignation from the state assembly seat within 14 days of the results. In case the elected MP does not give up assembly seat won earlier, he/she would lose the MP seat, according to the assembly sources. The Lok Sabha results were declared on May 16.


Please Wait while comments are loading...