• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Mizoram elections: Congress announces list of candidates, Thanhawla to contest from 2 seats


Aizawl, Oct 11: Mizoram Chief Minister and state PCC chief Lal Thanhawla would contest from two constituencies in the election to the 40-member state legislature to be held on November 28.

File photo of Mizoram CM Lal Thanhawla

The names of the candidates was announced by Lal Thanhawla at a meeting of party workers at the Aizawl Congress Bhavan on Thursday. Seven sitting legislators were denied party tickets while 12 nominees would be fighting the polls for the first time.

The names of four candidates — two from Siaha district, one from Lunglei district and one from Lawngtlai district — were yet to be announced. Lal Thanhawla would contest from Serchhip seat, his home turf and also from Champhai South.

The party has a single woman candidate in Cooperation Minister Vanlalawmpuii Chawngthu. The average age of the nominees was 57. There were four candidates below the age of 40, eight in the age group of 41-50, 14 in 51-60 range, four nominees in the 61-70 age group and five candidates above 70.

Congress, which has its government only in Mizoram in the entire North-East faces a major challenge to hold its fort in the state poll on November 28.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more