Elections' big winners and big losers

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Many giants fall in Delhi, Rajasthan
New Delhi, Dec 8: The assembly elections for four states saw the fall of many giants.

The most prominent face among them is Congress' Sheila Dikshith, who led the state government for three consecutive terms. She was defeated by Arvind Kejriwal, the chief of the new Aam Aadmi Party,by over 24,000 votes. 

Several ministers in Ashok Gehlot's cabinet in Rajasthan were defeated by BJP candidates. The prominent Congress leaders who were defeated are Shanthi Kumar Dhariwal, Urban development minister and AA Khan, medical and health minister. 

Krishna Punia, a celebrity candidate fielded by Congress in Rajasthan, could take only a third position in her constituency Sadulpur. 

The big winners

BJP's chief Delhi candidate Harsh Vardhan won with a whopping margin of over 43,150 votes from Krishna Nagar constituency. AAP's Manish Sisodia won from Patpar Ganj constituency in Delhi. 

In Rajasthan, BJP's Vasundhara Raje registered a landslide victory over congress candidate in Jhalarapatan constituency. The state's chief minister, congress' Ashok Gehlot won in Sardarpura constituency, although many of his cabinet minister were defeated. 

In Madhya Pradesh. chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan (BJP) struck a hat-trick, winning a landslide victory in both the seats he contested.

Madhya Pradesh minister and senior BJP leader Kailash Vijayvargiya won from Mhow by over 12,000 votes. It was his sixth assembly election victory in a row.

In Chhattisgarh, BJP's Raman Singh won with a huge margin. He won by over 35,000 votes.

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...