2 States: Manmohan Singh resigns while Narendra Modi celebrates in Delhi

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Modi and Manmohan Singh
New Delhi, May 17: The country witnessed two states of two of the most prominent personalities -- Narendra Modi and Manmohan Singh. While the former reached New Delhi to celebrate his landslide victory, the latter quietly reached the Rashtrapati Bhavan to tender his resignation on Saturday, May 17.

Dr Manmohan Singh, the 14th Prime Minister of India, led the country for last ten years. Now, he finally resigned from the top post as his party tasted the dust in the recently concluded Lok Sabha election. Manmohan Singh met the President Pranab Mukherjee around 1:00 pm and submitted his resignation paper.

Earlier in the day, Dr Singh addressed the nation for the last time before submitting his resignation. Meanwhile, sources informed that Congress President Sonia Gandhi and Vice President Rahul Gandhi too are likely to resign from the party.

BJP's victory in 15th Lok Sabha election was the biggest-ever win posted by any party after the landslide win which was achieved by the Congress on the strength of the "sympathy wave" generated by Indira Gandhi's assassination.

The only non-Congress formation to have got a majority, so far, was Janata Party which had achieved the feat in 1977. But given that it was a combination of four parties, Modi-led BJP's Friday victory marked the first instance where a party other than Congress has got past the majority mark on its own steam.

During his farewell speech to the nation, Dr Singh said, "I have always tried to do my best in serving this great nation. In last 10 years, India saw many successes and achievements that we should be proud of."

While Dr Singh bid adieu to the nation, Modi along top BJP leaders including party president Rajnath Singh, LK Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi, Sushma Swaraj, Nitin Gadkari, Arun Jaitley celebrated their victory.

BJP-led NDA got 335 seats, Congress-led UPA got 59. Out of 335 seats, BJP along grabbed 282 seats. Other parties including AAP, Left, Trinamool Congress, AIADMK and many won 138 seats.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...