• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Maha polls: BJP releases 1st list, CM Devendra Fadnavis to contest from Nagpur South West


Mumbai, Oct 01: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) announced the names of 125 candidates for the upcoming Maharashtra Assembly polls on Tuesday that will take place on October 21. The party also said that it will contest the election in an alliance with the Shiv Sena and some smaller parties. Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis will contest the polls from the Nagpur South West seat and the Maharashtra unit chief of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Chandrakant Patil, from Kothrud, according to the list released by the party's general secretary, Arun Singh.

Representational image

Meanwhile, Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil who quit Congress and joined BJP recently sets to contest from Shirdi. State Minister Girish Mahajan will contest from Jamner.

Addressing a press conference, Singh said the party had not given tickets to 12 of its MLAs. "The BJP will contest the Maharashtra Assembly election in an alliance with the Shiv Sena and some smaller parties," he said.

In a joint statement issued by the BJP and the Shiv Sena on Monday, it was announced that the seat-sharing had been finalized between the alliance partners.

The Republican Party of India (A), the Rashtriya Samaj Paksha, the Shiv Sangram Sanghatna, and the Rayat Kranti Sena are the other constituents in the "Mahayuti" (Grand Alliance). The Sena is likely to contest 124 seats and of the remaining 164, the BJP will give a few seats to the smaller allies.

Shiv Sena supremo Uddhav Thackeray's son Aaditya has already announced his candidature from the Worli seat in Mumbai. He will be the first member of the Thackeray family, which holds the reins of the party, to contest an election.

The BJP and the Sena had contested the 2014 Maharashtra Assembly polls separately but had later come together to form the government in the state.

Maharashtra elections: 'Big moment for me', says Aaditya Thackeray on contesting from Worli seat

BJP and Shiv Sena have finalized the seat-sharing deal for the Maharashtra assembly elections 2019 on Monday. The BJP had emerged as the single-largest party in the 2014 polls with 122 seats, followed by the Sena with 63 in the 288-member House.

Maharashtra will go to polls on October 21 and the results will be declared on October 24.

Here is the list of BJP

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X