Lok Sabha election 2014: High turnout in four states in phase 4

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Guwahati/Tripura/Gangtok/Panaji, April 12: High voter turnout was recorded in the four states which went to the polls in the fourth phase of the Lok Sabha election on Saturday. While Goa saw 75 per cent polling, the correspondent figures in Assam, Sikkim and Tripura read 75 per cent, 76 per cent and 81.8 per cent, respectively.

A total of seven constituencies went to the polls on Saturday, including three from Assam, two from Goa and one each from Tripura and Sikkim. Thirty-two assembly constituencies of Sikkim also went to the polls during the day.


Assam saw the second phase of polling on Saturday. Five constituencies of the 14-seat state went to the polls on April 7. Thirty-eight candidates were in fray for the Assam polls held in the three seats of Karimnagar, Silchar and Autonomous District.

Goa and Assam saw 75% polling, Sikkim saw 76% polling and Tripura 81.8% polling

In Silchar, Congress's Sushmita Dev, daughter of former Union minister Santosh Mohan Dev toom on sitting MP Kabindra Purkayastha of the BJP.

In Karimganj constituency, Congress's sitting MP Lalit Mohan Suklavaidya locked horns with All India United Democratic Front's Radheshyam Biswas and Krishna Das of the BJP.

In Autonomous District constituency, Congress's long-time sitting MP Biren Singh Ingti was challenged by Joyram Engleng of the BJP.


Formr Congress chief minister Ravi Naik took on three-tim MP and former Union minister Sripad Naik in North Goa while Congress's Aleixo Reginaldo took on Narendra Savoikar of the BJP in South Goa. The former replaced the sitting MP, Francisco Sardinha. In 2009, the Congress and BJP were tied 1-1 in Goa, which has two Lok Sabha seats.


Sitting Sikkim Democratic Front MP Prem Das Rai took on Sikkim Krantikari Morcha's Tek Nath Dhakal in the lone constituency in the hilly state which has over 3.7 lakh electors. The BJP, Trinamool Congress and Aam Aadmi Party also fielded their candidates from this seat.

In the assembly, there is no opposition as the ruling SDF won all 32 seats in the last election. Chief Minister Pawan Chamling contested from two seats.


Jitendra Choudhury of the Communist Party of India-Marxist and Sachitra Debbarma of the Congress were the main contenders from the Tripura East seat. The former is a state minister. The other seat in Tripura, Tripura West, went to the polls on April 7.

Please Wait while comments are loading...