• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Pinarayi Vijayan sworn-in as Chief Minister of Kerala


New Delhi, May 25: Pinarayi Vijayan was on Wednesday sworn-in as 22nd Chief Minister of Kerala. He along with 19 ministers took oath at the central stadium in capital Thiruvananthapuram.

Reportedly, 3,000 people were present in the ceremony.

Kerala: Pinarayi Vijayan sworn-in as CM

Kerala Governor P. Sathasivam also administered oaths of office to 18 cabinet ministers -- 11 from the CPI-M, four from CPI, and one each from the Congress-S, Janata Dal (S) and the Nationalist Congress Party.

Departing from tradition, this was the second time that the swearing in ceremony was held outside the Raj Bhavan complex -- the official residence of the Kerala Governor.

After registering victory in Kerala Assembly poll, LDF leadership decided that 72-year-old Vijayan, who is a son of a toddy tapper will be the next Chief Minister of the State. Vijayan was given prominence over 90-year left veteran V S Achuthanandan.

The CPI-M -led Left Democratic Front swept the May 16 assembly polls, winning 91 seats in the 140-member Kerala Assembly and showing the door to Oommen Chandy's Congress-led government that was in power since 2011.

OneIndia News

(With inputs from IANS)

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more