• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Kashmir: 1 A+ terrorist down, 20 to go


On Sunday, the security agencies killed two terrorists of the Lashkar-e-Tayiba in an encounter in Kashmir. Among them was Shakoor Ahmed Dar of the Lashkar-e-Tayiba.

Shakoor Ahmed Dar

Dan's name was part of the hit-list comprising 21 terrorists that the Army had prepared last week. Dar was the outfit's commander in Kulgam. He was a Category A+ terrorist.

On Sunday, two terrorists were killed while one surrendered following an encounter at Kulgam.

The police said that a tip-off had been received about the presence of some militants in the Chedar Ban area of Qaimoh in Kulgam district, after which a joint team of the Jammu and Kashmir Police, the Army and the CRPF, cordoned off the suspect house this afternoon.

"As the joint patrol approached towards the suspect house, a group of terrorists hiding inside fired indiscriminately on the security forces, to which forces retaliated cautiously leading to an encounter in the area," the police said in a statement, adding that two terrorists hiding inside the house were successfully eliminated by the security forces.

Dar, a resident of Sopat Tengpora of Kulgam, was operating as the divisional commander of proscribed terror outfit LeT and several terror-related cases were registered against him in different police stations of south Kashmir. He was involved in a number of other civilian atrocities and attack on security establishments in the area, police said.

The hit-list:

Hizbul Mujahideen:

  • Mohd Ashraf Khan alias Ashraf Moulvi: A resident of Kokernag, Anantnag, Ashraf is an A+ category militant.
  • Altaf Ahmad Dar alias Altaf Kachroo: Altaf, an A++ category militant, is a resident of Haoora, Kulgam.
  • Mohd Abbas Sheikh: Category A++, he is a resident of Kulgam.
  • Umar Majeed Ganai: A resident of Such, Kulgam, Ganai he is listed as an A++ terrorist.
  • Saifullah Mir: Mir is the district commander of the outfit in Pulwama.
  • Zeenat - ul - Islam: A resident of Sugan, Shopian, he is an A++ category terrorist.
  • Riyaz Ahmad Naikoo: A resident of Tokun, Awantipur, Naikoo is the chief commander of the outfit.
  • Latif Ahmad Dar or Haroon: A resident of Dogirpur, Awantipur, he is an A category terrorist.
  • Umar Fayaz Lone: A resident of Tral, Awantipur, Lone is an A category terrorist.
  • Manan Wani: He is said to be an AMU research scholar. A resident of Kupwara, he is B category terrorist.
  • Junaid Ashraf Sehrai: The son of Tehreek-e-Hurriyat Chairman Ashraf Sehrai, he is a category B terrorist.


  • Abu Muslim: He is a resident of Pakistan who operates in Hajan.
  • Abu Zargam alias Mohd Bhai: A resident of Pakistan he is a Category A+ terrorist.
  • Azad Ahmad Malik alias Dada: He is a resident of Malikpura, Bijbiara, Anantag and is an A category terrorist.
  • Mohd Naveed Jad: A resident of Pakistan, he operates in Pulwama.
  • Riyaz Ahmad Dar: A resident of Sethargun, Pulwama, Dar is an A category terrorist.
  • Mustaq Ahmad Mir: A resident of Chak Cholan, Shopian, Mir is a category A++ terrorist active since 2014.


  • Zahid Ahmad Wani: He is a resident of Karimabad, Pulwama
  • Mudasir Ahmad Khan: He is a resident of Midur
  • Ansar Ghazwat ul-Hind
  • Zakir Rashid Bhat: Zakir Musa is an A++ militant who joined in July 2013. He had quit the Hizbul Mujahideen to form the Ansar.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more