• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Oneindia App Download

Karnataka updates: Kumaraswamy's floor test in the assembly today

By Oneindia Staff
Google Oneindia News

Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy will face the trust vote in the Karnataka Assembly today (May 25). The Congress-JD (S) government is expected to sail throught the floor test without any hicups as they have the numbers. Kumaraswamy took oath the CM while G Parameshwara was sworn-in as his deputy on May 23.

HD Kumaraswamy

Following the floor test both parties would decide on the portfolios for its MLAs. The Congress has got 22 including the deputy CM, while the JD(S) with the inclusion of the CM has got 12.

Stay tuned for the updates from Karnataka.

Newest First Oldest First
10:25 PM, 24 May
"After formation of coalition government, I request the voters of Rajarajeswari Nagar and Jayanagar to believe in me. I have a bigger vision for the development of the state," HDK says a day before floor test.
10:24 PM, 24 May
"I have called a meeting of finance ministry officials tomorrow after the floor test. I'll take all decisions after the floor test," says Kumaraswamy.
4:08 PM, 24 May
I don't think I got the post of deputy chief minister because I am a Dalit. It is by chance that I am a dalit: G. Parameshwara, Karnataka Deputy CM
4:07 PM, 24 May
Varthur Prakash held a meeting with his supporters to review the reason for his loss. He also arranged a mega feast for his supporters. Varthur Prakash was an independent candidate who contested and lost from Kolar
3:49 PM, 24 May
Congress to hold legislative party meeting in Bengaluru's Hilton Hotel today. According to reports, the party leaders likely to discuss portfolio distribution.
2:24 PM, 24 May
BS Yeddyurappa likely to continue as BJP state president as well as opposition party leader. Yeddyurappa likely to handle both roles until 2019 Lok Sabha polls.
1:52 PM, 24 May
Former CM BS Yeddyurappa likely to be elected as Leader of the Opposition party in the house. According to reports, he will also continue as the party president.
1:18 PM, 24 May
Deputy CM G Parameshwara quits as member of Legislative Council today. Parameshwara has been elected from Koratagere constituency in the recently concluded assembly elections.
1:04 PM, 24 May
CM HD Kumaraswamy visits Siddaganga Mutt in Tumkuru today. Kumaraswamy to seek blessings from 111-year-old Shivakumara Swamiji.
12:51 PM, 24 May
After West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee complained about walking a distance for HDK's oath-taking, Karnataka Chief Minister Kumaraswamy summons DG-IGP Neelamani Raju and seeks an explanation.
11:59 AM, 24 May
Congress's KR Ramesh Kumar files nomination for Speaker of Vidhana Soudha in Bengaluru. Deputy CM G Parameshwara, former CM Siddaramaiah and other leaders of the party also present.
11:27 AM, 24 May
According to reports, CM HD Kumaraswamy seeks explanation from DGP Neelamani Raju. West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee was disappointed with the DGP and HD Deve Gowda as she had to walk till Vidhan Soudha from Chalukya circle.
10:54 AM, 24 May
Karnataka CM HD Kumaraswamy met Nanjavadhoota Swami of Pattanayakanahalli Mutt in Bengaluru yesterday.
10:51 AM, 24 May
BJP MLA Suresh Kumar files nomination for Vidhana Soudha speaker. V Sunil Kumar and Ashwath Narayan were also present.
8:04 AM, 24 May
Rahul Gandhi will clear the list of 21 ministers from the Congress. During a meeting with party leaders at Bengaluru, he asked the leaders to prepare the list and submit it to him before the H D Kumaraswamy led government expands its council of ministers next week.
8:03 AM, 24 May
Looks like B S Yeddyurappa has offered former Karnataka chief minister, Siddaramaiah a shoulder to cry on. Yeddyurappa feels that Siddaramaiah has been completely sidelined by the Congress despite him ensuring the victory of 50 MLAs single-handedly with the support of his Kuruba community.
8:03 AM, 24 May
Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik did not attend the swearing-in of HD Kumaraswamy as the chief minister of Karnataka today as the BJD maintains an equal distance from the Congress and the BJP, a party leader said. Patnaik, who is the BJD president, did not attend the swearing-in in Bengaluru that was held on Wednesday.
9:08 PM, 23 May
Session of Karnataka Assembly to be convened on 25 May at 12.15 pm.
7:36 PM, 23 May
Prime Minister Narendra Modi spoke to HD Kumaraswamy and congratulated him on taking oath as Chief Minister of Karnataka.
7:13 PM, 23 May
"I am going to waive-off farmers' loans," says Kumaraswamy.
6:41 PM, 23 May
"Leaders who came from all over country wanted to give a message to the nation that we are one and in 2019 there will be a major change in political situation, they were not here to protect this govt, this govt will be protected by local Congress leaders and our leaders," Kumaraswamy says after taking oath as the Karnataka CM.
6:32 PM, 23 May
"This coalition government will run better than any one party government and we will concentrate on working for the public. We have decided to work together for the betterment of the state," Kumaraswamy tells media.
5:26 PM, 23 May
Union home minister Rajnath Singh greets new chief minister of Karnataka. Taking to twitter, Rajnath wrote: "Congratulations to Shri HD Kumaraswamy and Shri G Parameshwar on taking oath as the Chief Minister and Deputy Chief Minister of Karnataka. I hope, Karnataka will move forward towards peace, progress and prosperity under the new Govt."
4:42 PM, 23 May
After being sworn in as CM, Kumaraswamy walked up to all the national leaders and greeted them. The ceremony which was a grand affair has come to an end.
4:38 PM, 23 May
Dr. G Parameshwar sworn in as the deputy chief minister of Karnataka.
4:35 PM, 23 May
H D Kumaraswamy takes oath as the Chief Minister of Karnataka. He took oath in the name of the people of Karnataka and God.
4:32 PM, 23 May
H D Kumaraswamy takes oath as the Chief Minister of Karnataka.
4:28 PM, 23 May
Picture perfect: Rahul, Sonia and Mayawati stand together and wave at the crowd. Signs of a joint opposition grows stronger.
4:28 PM, 23 May
The heavy rains have not deterred the joint opposition leaders who have come to Bengaluru to attend the swearing in ceremony of H D Kumaraswamy. Heavy rains lashed out at Bengaluru just moments ago. The weather is dull as of now, but the rains have stopped.
4:26 PM, 23 May
Rahul and Sonia Gandhi have arrived at Vidhan Soudha

For Daily Alerts
Best Deals and Discounts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X