• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Karnataka MLC seat bypoll on March 15: ECI


Bengaluru, Feb 18: The bypoll to the Karnataka Legislative Council seat which fell vacant due to the death of Council deputy speaker S L Dharmegowda will take place on March 15, the Election Commission said on Thursday.

Karnataka MLC seat bypoll on March 15: ECI

According to the ECI order, notification for the bypoll will be issued on February 25 and the last date of filing nominations is March 4. The last date for withdrawal is March 8. The ECI said the polling by the MLAs will take place between 9 am to 4 pm on March 15 and counting of votes will take place the same day.

Bihar RS bypoll: Sushil Modi set for walkover as oppn chooses not to enter fray

The Commission said the election process should conclude before March 18. It also said the election will take place as per COVID-19 safety guidelines including wearing of face masks and using sanitisers. Dharmegowda, the 64-year-old JD(S) MLC, was found dead on a rail track in Chikkamagaluru district of Karnataka in the early hours of December 29, with police sources claiming he died by suicide.

The late leader was at the centre of high drama in the legislative council on December 15, which saw BJP-JD(S) and Congress members hurling abuses and pushing each other over a row pertaining to a no-confidence motion against then Chairman K Pratapachandra Shetty.

During the ruckus, Dharmegowda, who was in the Chairman's seat, was pulled down by some Congress legislators who accused him of occupying the chair against the rules.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X