• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Oneindia App Download

Karnataka government formation: Kumaraswamy govt's floor test on May 24

By Vikas
Google Oneindia News

The floor test of the HD Kumaraswamy-led government in Karnataka would be held in the state assembly on May 24. Karnataka Chief Minister designate HD Kumaraswamy will be sworn-in tomorrow (May 23).

Karnataka Chief Minister designate HD Kumaraswamy

Congress and JD (S) leaders held a meeting on Tuesday (May 22) evening to discuss the sharing of cabinet berths in the new coalition government. Out of the 34 ministries, the Congress will keep 22 while the JD (S) will get 12, said Congress' Karnataka general secretary KC Venugopal.

Among other things decided in the meeting are that Congress' G Parameswara and KR Ramesh Kumar would be the Deputy Chief Minister and the Speaker, respectively. The portfolios would be allocated on May 24.

Amid reports of difference between the two parties over the sharing of cabinet berths, CM designate Kumaraswamy said that "Everything is alright and there are no differences".

The ceremony to be held on Wednesday at 4.30 pm will be attended byBSP leader Mayawati, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, National Conference leader Farooq Abdullah, Telangana Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu, Orissa Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, DMK leader M.K. Stalin, former Kerala Chief Minister Oommen Chandy, former Assam Chief Minister Prafulla Kumar Mahanta, CPM leader Sitaram Yechury, CPI leader D. Raja, and NCP leader Sharad Pawar.

For Daily Alerts
Best Deals and Discounts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X