• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Karnataka elections 2018: H D Kumaraswamy wins from Channapatna

By Deepika

JD(S) supremo HD Kumaraswamy pulled off a victory in Channapatna by a huge margin. He beats Congress leader HM Revanna and sitting MLA and BJP candidate CP Yogeshwar.


The JD(S) leader was in with a good chance as Vokkaligas account for one lakh of the around 2.25 lakh voters.

In 2013, Yogeshwar a popular Vokkaliga leader defeated Anita Kumaraswamy, HD Kumaraswamy's wife, by 6,464 votes. Yogeshwar had also previously won contesting on the BJP ticket in 2008.

There are a total of 2,16,448 voters in the constituency that include general voters, NRI voters and service voters. Amongst the general voters 1,06,134 are male, 1,10,272 female and 9 others. The electorate sex ratio in the constituency is 103.87 and the approximate literacy rate is 70%.

In 2013 Assembly Elections, the total number of votes polled was 156188, and turn out was almost 81%. C.P.Yogeeshwara of Samajwadi Party won the 2013 elections, with 47.53% of the polled votes.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more