• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Karnataka election results: Your cheatsheet to follow the verdict region-wise


The big day is here and counting for the Karnataka assembly elections will be held today. The voting pattern in Karnataka is an interesting one with the state being divided into six regions.

Karnataka election results: Your cheatsheet to follow the verdict region-wise

Counting begins at 8 am today and as you watch the results trickling in live, here is a small guide for you to track the verdict region-wise.

Bangalore: There are 28 constituencies in Bangalore. The battle here is between the Congress and the BJP. This time in the Bangalore region, polling was held only to 26 constituencies. The poll at Rajarajeshwari Nagar was postponed thanks to a voter ID scam. In Jayanagar the elections were countermanded due to the death of BJP MLA, B N Vijaykumar.

Old Mysore region: The numbers that have been thrown up in favour of the JD(S) in all exit polls are thanks to this region. The party normally does well in this region owing to the high Vokkaliga population. However the JD(S) faces tough competition from the Congress, which is equally strong in this region. The BJP has never done well in this region. It was only in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP did well here and that was thanks to the Modi wave.

There are 65 seats up for grabs. Chikmagalur, Tumkur, Kolar, Chikballapur, Bangalore Rural, Mandya, Hassan, Mysore, Chamrajanagar and Ramnagaram constitute this region. This has traditionally been a Congress-JD(S) belt. Here the Congress and JD(S) are in a close contest.

Bombay Karnataka region: With 50 seats up for grabs, this region comprises, Belagavi, Bagalkot, Vijayapura, Haveri, Dharwad and Gadag. This region has primarily backed the BJP.

Central Karnataka: Comprising Davangere, Shimoga and Chitradurga, this region has 22 seats. Here the BJP is expected to do better than the Congress.

Coastal Region: There are 19 seats in this region comprising Udupi, Uttara Kannada and Dakshin Kannada. The fight here is expected to be a close one between the BJP and Congress.

Hyderabad-Karnataka: There are 40 seats here and the region comprises, Bidar, Gulbarga, Yadgir, Raichur, Koppal and Bellary. The BJP traditionally does well here, but this year it would in close competition with the Congress.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more