• search
For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now  
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Karnataka Election: Nitish Kumar’s JD(U) to contest 30 seats on its own


The Karnataka Assembly Election 2018 got more crowded with Nitish Kumar of the JD(S) stating that his party would contest around 25 to 30 seats. The move comes in the wake of the party trying to increase its presence beyond Bihar.

Nitish Kumar

Currently, the party has just one MLA in Nagaland outside Bihar. It had another MLA in Gujarat, but Chhotubhai Vasava switched over to the Sharad Yadav faction and floated a party called the Bharatiya Tribal Party.

The party has indicated that it would contest the election on its own. In Bihar, the party is in power with the support of the BJP.

Karnataka poll date leak: Final report in two days

Bihar Chief Minister, Nitish Kumar would be visiting Karnataka on April 11. On that day he would formally launch the election campaign.

Karnataka Assembly Election dates
Date of notification April 17
Last date to file nominations April 24
Last date to withdraw nominations April 27
Date of polling May 12
Date of counting May 15

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more