• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018: Kumaraswamy wins Ramanagar constituency

By Deepika

Former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda's son HD Kumaraswamy has won comfortablyagainst the Congress candidate Iqbal Husaain from Ramanagara seat.


Kumaraswamy has emerged as an unassailable leader in this Vokkaliga-dominated constituency, which has given three Chief Ministers to the state Kengal Hanumanthaiah, H D Deve Gowda and Kumaraswamy. Apart from the caste factor, Kumaraswamy has succeeded in establishing a strong connect with electorate from all the communities as it was he, who as the CM in 2007, gave the district tag for Ramanagara.

Earlier, the Congress' choice of candidate had sparked rumours of a secret pact between Kumaraswamy and Congress Campaign Committee chief D K Shivakumar as the JD(S) has fielded a "weak candidate" (Narayana Gowda) in Shivakumar's Kanakapura constituency.

Meanwhile, Kumaraswamy has made it clear that he is in the race for Chief Ministership, with claims that his party will win full majority. But after exit polls predicted a hung house, where his party will play a crucial role in forming the next government, there is speculation that the JDS will angle for a deputy chief minister's post in return for its support.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more