Jharkhand polls: Hemant Soren wins from Barhait, Arjun Munda loses from Kharswan

Posted By: IANS
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Ranchi, Dec 23: Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren Tuesday won from the Barhait assembly constituency in the state, officials said.

Soren defeated BJP candidate Hemalal Murmu by more than 23,000 votes.

Jharkhand polls: Hemant Soren wins, Arjun Munda loses.
Soren, however, was trailing by more than 7,000 votes in the Dumka constituency behind Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Louis Marandi.

Former chief minister and Jai Bharat Samanta Party candidate Madhu Koda lost the election from the Majhgao constituency. He was defeated by Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) candidate Nial Purty by over 20,000 votes.

Madhu Koda's wife Geeta Koda was leading in the Jagannathpur constituency in the state.

Former deputy chief minister and All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) president Sudesh Mahto lost from Silli constituency. His party was in alliance with the BJP. JMM candidate Amit Mahto defeated Sudesh Mahto by over 30,000 votes.

Former Jharkhand Chief Minister and heavyweight BJP leader Arjun Munda lost from the Kharsawan (ST) constituency.

Munda, who had won the Kharsawan seat four times earlier, lost to JMM's Dashrath Gagrai.

Munda, who had been chief minister thrice in the last 14 years since Jharkhand was created as a separate state on November 15, 2000, in a statement said "win and loss are normal process in politics. I am grateful to the voters of Kharswan, who gave me four times opportunity to serve them."

He was the Leader of Opposition in the outgoing House. 

Jharkhand Vikas Morcha president Babulal Marandi is trailing in the Dhanwar constituency.


Please Wait while comments are loading...