• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Jharkhand Assembly bypolls end peacefully


Panki/Godda (Jharkhand), May 16: By-elections for the Panki and Godda Assembly constituencies today ended peacefully, election officials said.

The voting began at 7 AM and ended at 3 PM, the officials said, adding that around 64 per cent voting was registered in Panki, while around 65 per cent polling was recorded in Godda.


Amit Mandal (BJP), Sanjay Yadav (RJD) and former Odisha police chief Sanjiv Marik (JMM) are among the 16 candidates for the Godda seat, while Lal Suraj (BJP), Kushwaha Shashibhusan Mehta (JMM) and Devendra Kumar Singh (Congress) are among the nine candidates in the fray for the Panki seat.

Counting of votes will be held on May 19. The seats fell vacant after the demise of Bidesh Singh (Panki) and Raghunandan Mandal (Godda) earlier this year.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more