JD(U), BJP win two seats each in legislative council polls

Posted By: IANS
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Patna, July 10 : Bihar's ruling Janata Dal-United (JD-U) and the opposition BJP have won two seats each on Friday as counting of votes cast for the biennial elections to 24 legislative council seats was underway, officials said.

JD-U's candidate Reena Yadav has won from Nalanda seat and the party has also won from Muzaffarpur seat. Bharatiya Janata Party's candidate Sachidanand Rai won from Chapra and Aurangabad seat.


[44 per cent votes cast in Bihar Legislative Council polls]

An independent candidate Ritlal Yadav, who is lodged in Beur jail here, is leading from the Patna seat.

Yadav, a criminal-turned-politician, is considered close to Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD).

According to officials of the state election commission, JD-U is leading from two seats and its ally RJD from two seats. Besides, the BJP is also leading from the two seats.

The election for 24 seats of Bihar Legislative council were held on Tuesday with an estimated 94 percent voting recorded during the polls.

Altogether, 152 contestants were in the fray for the 24 council seats.


Please Wait while comments are loading...