J&K Assembly polls: Jitendra Singh to head BJP's Election Campaign Committee

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Srinagar, Nov 17: Union Minister Jitendra Singh will lead the 18-member State Election Campaign Committee constituted by BJP in Jammu and Kashmir.

BJP State President and MP, Jugal Kishore Sharma, in consultations with party leadership, has reconstituted the 18 members State Election Campaign Committee, a BJP spokesman said today.

MoS Jitendra Singh

The campaign committee will be headed by Jitendra Singh, MoS in PMO as its Chairman, with Ashok Khajuria, Dr Nirmal Singh, Shamsher Singh Manhas, Prof Chaman Lal Gupta, Thumpstan Chhewang, Farooq Khan, Sunil Sethi, Ch Lal Singh, S S Bijral, Vibodh Gupta, Bharat Bushan, Prof Gharu Ram, Ajatshatru Singh, Yudhvir Sethi, P S Gill, Vikram Randhawa and Haleema Begum as its members, he said.

The BJP has so far declared 72 candidates out of a total of 87 seats in the State Assembly, of which 20 Muslims have been fielded.

Buoyed with the party's recent successes in Haryana and Maharashtra, the BJP is optimistic of performing well in the upcoming Assembly polls in Jammu and Kashmir and Jharkhand as well.

The BJP has also chalked out a strategy for Jammu and Kashmir and is working in close coordination with smaller parties. The party is likely to carry along some moderate separatists in the Valley and may align with some of them after the polls.

The Assembly polls in the state will start from November 25 and will be held in five phases ending on December 20. The results will be out on December 23.


Please Wait while comments are loading...