• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

"Honoured to serve India!" tweets Modi after taking oath as PM


New Delhi, May 30: Narendra Modi took oath as India's Prime Minister for the second time after the BJP swept Lok Sabha elections 2019 by winning 303 seats. Modi was administered the oath of office and secrecy by President Ram Nath Kovind at a glittering ceremony at the forecourt of majestic Rashtraparti Bhavan.

PM Modi

Along with Modi, Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, Nitin Gadkari, and other top leaders were also sworn-in as Union ministers. D V Sadananda Gowda, Nirmala Sitharaman and Ram Vilas Paswan also tool oath among others.

"Honoured to serve India!" tweeted Modi after taking the oath for the second consecutive term.

Congress party also congratulated PM Modi and other ministers.

"Congratulations to PM @narendramodi and his new Cabinet Ministers. We wish them the best & look forward to working with them on the growth & development of India & all its citizens," Congress party tweeted.

Top opposition leaders including former prime minister Manmohan Singh, Congress President Rahul Gandhi and UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, corporate honchos, film stars, chief ministers and a galaxy of leaders from BIMSTEC countries were part of the nearly 8,000 guests at the ceremony.

Others who took oath of office, included Narendra Singh Tomar, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Thanwar Chand Gehlot, Ramesh Pokhriyal, Arjun Munda, Smriti Irani, Harsh Vardhan, Prakash Javadekar, Piyush Goyal, Dharmendra Pradhan, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Prahlad Joshi, Mahendra nath pandey and Giriraj Singh.

[Narendra Modi sworn in Prime Minister, Shah joins his Cabinet][Narendra Modi sworn in Prime Minister, Shah joins his Cabinet]

This is the second time Modi took the oath at the forecourt of Rashtrapati Bhavan. Modi was sworn in by the then President Pranab Mukherjee in 2014 in the presence of over 3,500 guests including the heads of SAARC countries. Earlier, Chandra Shekhar in 1990 and Atal Bihari Vajpayee in 1999 were sworn in at the sprawling forecourt. Leaders of BIMSTEC countries including President of Bangladesh Abdul Hamid, Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena, Nepal Prime Minister K P Sharma Oli, President of Myanmar U Win Myint and Bhutanese Prime Minister Lotay Tshering also attended the gala event.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X