• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Oneindia App Download

Hindus are a minority in these 8 Indian states

By Vicky
Google Oneindia News

The Hindus are minorities in 8 Indian states. They are Lakshadweep, Mizoram, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Jammu and Kashmir, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur and Punjab.

Hindus are a minority in these 8 Indian states

A plea has been filed in the Supreme Court by BJP leader, Ashwini Kumar Upadhyay seeking minority status for Hindus in the above states. He has also sought for the notification on Minority Community to be repealed.

A repeal, thereof, 'except the State of Jammu and Kashmir' be served from Section 1(2) of the NCM Act, as it is invalid and against the Constitution and its basic structure," he said in his petition.

The plea states that it is the duty of the State to move beyond the minority-majority binary communal politics, which ironically passes for secularism in this country, has been the bane of our democracy.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Best Deals and Discounts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X