Gujarat Assembly elections 2017: BJP releases first list of candidates

Written By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
    Gujarat Assembly polls : BJP releases 1st list of 70 candidates | Oneindia News

    The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Friday announced the names of 70 candidates for the upcoming Gujarat assembly elections 2017. 89 assembly constituencies spread over 19 districts of Saurashtra, Kutch and South Gujarat will go to polls in the first phase on December 9 while the second phase of voting will be on December 14.

    Click Here : Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017: BJP's first list of candidates for 70 constituencies

    Gujarat Assembly elections 2017: BJP releases first list of candidates

    The Central Election Committee of the BJP that met on Friday under the leadership of party national President Amit Shah decided on 70 names for the upcoming assembly polls.

    Prime Minister Narendra Modi, and union ministers Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj along with other members of the Central Election Committee of the BJP were part of Friday's meeting.

    The first list of the BJP includes names of incumbent Chief Minister Vijaybhai Rupani who will contest from Rajkot West, Nitinbhai Patel from Mahesana, Jitubhai Vaghani from Bhavnagar West. Vasanbhai Ahir will contest from Anjar, Shankarbhai Chadhary from Vav, Parbatbhai Patel from Tharad, Keshaji Chauhan from Deodar. C.K.Raulji will contest from Godhra, Manishaben Vakil from Vadodara city, Purneshbhai Ishwarlal Modi from Surat West. The names of 70 candidates have been announced in the BJP's first list.

    The Congress is yet to announce its list for the upcoming elections that are expected to be a mother of all electoral battles.

    OneIndia News

    For Breaking News from Oneindia
    Get instant news updates throughout the day.