• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Entry of passengers from 36 countries banned temporarily; 11 others to be quarantined


New Delhi, Mar 18: India has temporarily banned entry of passengers from 36 countries while people travelling from 11 countries will be mandatorily quarantined in the wake of the coronavirus outbreak, the Home Ministry said on Wednesday.

Representational Image

The ministry also said Overseas Citizen of India (OCI) card holders, except from the restricted countries, will be required to obtain fresh visa from the Indian mission and allowed to enter India.

'No airline will bring any passenger from Australia, Belgium, Bulgeria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom effective 12 GMT March 12 at Port of departure,' a home ministry spokesperson said.

75 crore PDS beneficiaries can lift 6-month quota of grains in one go: Paswan amid coronavirus scare

Airlines are barred from bringing passengers from Phillipines, Malaysia and Afghanistan with effect from March 17 at port of departure.

The spokesperson said there will be no transit through these countries as no aircraft will board passengers for India in these countries.

All passengers coming from/transiting through the UAE, Qatar, Oman and Kuwait after 12:00 GMT on March 18 (port of departure) will be quarantined.

Those who have visited China, Republic of Korea, Iran, Italy, Spain, France and Germany on or after February 15 will be quarantined, the spokesperson said.

Those Indians who are coming from the Republic of Korea or Italy, it is mandatory to get COVID-19 negative certificates.

Passengers from Italy shall not be allowed with from March 18 (port of departure).

Indians transiting through China, Korea, Iran, Italy, Spain and France will be quarantined on arrival in India.

The spokesperson said Indians are strongly advised to avoid non-essential travel to the coronavirus affected countries.

Foreigners who are currently in India can extend their visas and for that they should approach their jurisdiction of FRRO/ FRO online.

Foreigners currently in India can go out of the country. However, they can return to India with fresh visa issues from mission only.

The OCI card holders are required to obtain fresh visa from mission and allowed to enter India except from restricted countries.

Infants/children who hold foreign passports with OCI cards will be required to get fresh visa from the Indian mission.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more