EC issues notification for 3rd phase Bengal Assembly polls

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kolkata, Mar 29: The Election Commission on Monday, March 28, issued notification for the third phase of West Bengal Assembly elections on April 21, starting the process of filing nominations in 62 constituencies in the state.

Around 23 nomination papers were filed on the first day today, the state's Additional Chief Electoral Officer Dibyendu Sarkar said. Voters of the 62 constituencies of Murshidabad (22), Nadia (17), Uttar Kolkata (7) and parts of Burdwan (16) in this phase would be able to exercise their franchise from 7 AM to 6 PM.

[Assembly Elections 2016: Know your state -- West Bengal]

West Bengal

Candidates contesting for this phase will be able to file their nominations up to April 4, while scrutiny of nomination papers will be held on April 5 and the date of withdrawal will end on April 7, he said.

For the Phase II elections on April 17, in seven districts of Alipurduar, Jalpaiguri, Uttar Dinajpur, Dakshin Dinajpur, Malda, Birbhum) 130 nominations were filed till Saturday, Sarkar said.

Out of the 130, BSP (25), BJP (11), CPIM (5), Congress (6), Trinamool Congress (17), Forward Bloc (3), RSP (1), Independent (11) and 51 of other registered parties have filed their nominations till Saturday, he said.

Today is the last day of filing nominations for phase II elections while scrutiny of them will be held on March 30 while the date of withdrawal will be on April 1.


Please Wait while comments are loading...