• search
For New-delhi Updates
Allow Notification  
Oneindia App Download

Congress gets Speaker: HDK expresses gratitude to Sonia

Google Oneindia News

Amidst reports of differences, the Congress and JD(S) have moved ahead and decided that the grand old party will get to select a Speaker of its choice. This issue came up for discussion between Kumaraswamy, Rahul and Sonia Gandhi at Delhi on Tuesday. The meeting was described as a cordial one. The proposal for the Speaker's post was made by Rahul Gandhi and Kumaraswamy readily agreed.

JD(S) leader and Karnataka chief minister-designate H D Kumaraswamy with Congress President Rahul Gandhi and former Congress president Sonia Gandhi during a meeting in New Delhi

Prior to Kumaraswamy's Delhi visit, his father and JD(S) supremo, Deve Gowda had insisted on the Speaker's post stating that it was important for the smooth functioning of the coalition.

During the Delhi meeting, the Gandhi's told Kumaraswamy to leave the past aside and work towards a new relationship. A report stated that the meetings with the Gandhis that took place at 12, Tughlaq Road was cordial with Kumaraswamy touching Sonia's feet as a gesture of gratitude for supporting the JD(S).

It may be recalled that Rahul Gandhi had launched a scathing attack on the JD(S) by calling it the b-team of the JD(S). "We have not discussed any future course of action. I wanted to show my respect and regards to the Gandhi family. I requested their presence at the oath-taking ceremony," Kumaraswamy said after the meeting. The Congress announced that the Gandhis would take part in the swearing-in-ceremony. The ceremony to be held on Wednesday at 4.30 pm will be attended byBSP leader Mayawati, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, National Conference leader Farooq Abdullah, Telangana Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu, Orissa Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, DMK leader M.K. Stalin, former Kerala Chief Minister Oommen Chandy, former Assam Chief Minister Prafulla Kumar Mahanta, CPM leader Sitaram Yechury, CPI leader D. Raja, and NCP leader Sharad Pawar.

For Daily Alerts
Best Deals and Discounts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X