• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Oneindia App Download

Parameshwar to be HDK’s deputy, Congress gets 22 berths, JD(S) 12

By Vikas
Google Oneindia News

Congress and JD (S) leaders held a meeting on Tuesday (May 22) evening to discuss the sharing of cabinet berths in the new coalition government. Out of the 34 ministries, the Congress will keep 22 while the JD (S) will get 12, said Congress' Karnataka general secretary KC Venugopal.

Parameshwar to be HDK’s deputy, Congress gets 22 berths, JD(S) 12

Among other things decided in the meeting are that Congress' G Parameswara and KR Ramesh Kumar would be Deputy Chief Minister and Speaker, respectively. The portfolios would be allocated on may 24.

"Congress-JDS leaders met and discussed about the cabinet formation, out of 34 ministries, 22 ministries will go with Congress Party and 12 ministries, including CM will be with JDS. Portfolio allocation to be decided after floor test," Venugopal told the media after the meeting.

Amid reports of difference between the two parties over the sharing of cabinet berths, CM designate Kumaraswamy said that "Everything is alright and there are no differences".

"Today we took a decision regarding the expansion (of the cabinet). Speaker and deputy speaker would be elected on 25 May. Portfolios would be decided day after tomorrow," Kumaraswamy had said earlier today (May 22).

Here is how the new cabinet may look like:

CM - HD Kumaraswamy
Deputy CM - Dr G Parameshwara
Congress - 21-22 Ministers
JDS - 12-13 Ministers
Speaker - Ramesh Kumar from Congress

As per reports, Parameshwara will take oath along with Kumaraswamy tomorrow. The ceremony to be held on Wednesday at 4.30 pm will be attended by BSP leader Mayawati, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, National Conference leader Farooq Abdullah, Telangana Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu, Orissa Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, DMK leader M.K. Stalin, former Kerala Chief Minister Oommen Chandy, former Assam Chief Minister Prafulla Kumar Mahanta, CPM leader Sitaram Yechury, CPI leader D. Raja, and NCP leader Sharad Pawar.

For Daily Alerts
Best Deals and Discounts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X