Chronology of 1993 bomb blasts case

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, July 21: Following is the chronology of events in the 1993 bomb blast case involving Yakub Memon, younger brother of prime absconding accused Tiger Memon, whose curative petition was today dismissed by the Supreme Court.

March 12, 1993: Serial blasts shattered the city at 12 locations including Air-India Building, Bombay Stock Exchange and Centeur and Sea Rock Hotels in which 257 people were killed and another 713 injured.

Chronology of 1993 bomb blasts

June 1995: Trial begins in TADA court in Mumbai housed in high-security Central Prison.

August 6, 1994: Yakub arrested when he arrived at Delhi Airport from Khatmandu.

September 2006: 100 accused, including Yakub, were convicted. Twenty were given life sentences. Among them was film star Sanjay Dutt who was given 5 years jail term for possessing weapon in notified area under TADA.

July 27, 2007: Death sentence awarded to Yakub by TADA Judge P D Kode. 11 others also got capital punishment. Yakub was found guilty of Conspiracy (IPC section 120-B) for causing terror acts under TADA, arranged tickets for accused to go to Pakistan for arms training and brought vehicles used for planting bombs used in the serial explosions.

March 21, 2013: Supreme Court upheld death sentence awarded to Yakub by TADA Court but commutes death sentence of 10 others to life term. One convict dies in jail.

2014: President Pranab Mukherjee rejects Yakub's mercy petition.

April 10, 2015: Supreme Court rejects review petition filed by Memon

April 29: Special TADA Judge G Sanap fixes July 30 as the date of execution.

May 2015: Yakub lodged in Nagpur central prison files a curative petition in Supreme Court.

July 21: Supreme Court dismisses curative petition of Yakub, confirms death sentence.


Please Wait while comments are loading...