• search
For New-delhi Updates
Allow Notification  

Children felicitated for National Bravery Awards by Delhi Lt Governor

By Shreya

Lt. Governor Anil Baijal felicitated on children who have been conferred the 'National Bravery Award 2017' at a function held at the Raj Niwas on January 22. Two girls and one boy amongst the 18 'National Bravery Award 2017' winners have been given the award posthumously. Of the 18 children, seven are girls and 11 are boys.

Lt. Governor Anil Baijal felicitated children for National Bravery Awards

Congratulating the winners on their bravery, the Lt. Governor said that they have not only saved the lives of others by showing exemplary courage and strength but have also performed their duty towards humanity.

In his blessings, he wished them success in life and prayed for their good health and a bright future, so that they can harness their positive energy in improving society and inspire more and more people to do selfless service. He paid his tributes to the parents of the children who laid down their lives for saving others.

The much coveted Bharat Award was conferred on Nazia of Uttar Pradesh who raised her voice against illegal gambling and betting, which have been rampant for decades in her neighbourhood. She courageously faced and endured threats to her life but did not give up her fight.

The prestigious Geeta Chopra Award was conferred on Late Netravati M. Chavan of Karnataka who sacrificed her life in an attempt to save two boys from drowning.

The Sanjay Chopra Award was conferred to 17 and half-year old Master Karanbeer Singh of Punjab who saved several precious lives from death with his tireless efforts and indomitable courage.

Master Betshwajohn Peinlang of Meghalaya, Mamata Dalai of Odisha, and Master Sebastian Vincent of Kerala are being given the Bapu Gaidhani Awards. Betshwajohn with his fearless act of bravery saved his brother from being burnt alive.

Mamata Dalai dragged her friend from a crocodile's jaws with her valourous and bold action. Sebastian bravely and fearlessly saved his friend's life from an inevitable mishap on a railway track.

The other recipients are Laxmi Yadav (Chhattisgarh), Mansha N, Master N. Shangpon Konyak, Master Yoaknei, Master Chingai Wangsa (all from Nagaland), Samridhi Sushil Sharma (Gujarat), Master Zonuntluanga, Late F. Lalchhandama (both from Mizoram), Pankaj Semwal (Uttarakhand), Master Nadaf Ejaj Abdul Rauf (Maharashtra), Late Loukrakpam Rajeshwori Chanu (Manipur) and Pankaj Kumar Mahanta (Odisha).

The National Bravery Awards give recognition to the children who distinguish themselves by performing outstanding deeds of bravery and meritorious service.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more