Cauvery row: Curfew imposed in several parts of Bengaluru

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, Sep 13: In a bid to curb the escalating violence over the Cauvery waters issue, curfew has been imposed in several parts of Bengaluru.

The police imposed curfew in 16 police station limits of the city. Curfew has been imposed in R RNagara,K P, Agrahara, Chandralayout, Yeshwanathapura, Mahalakshmilayout, Peenya, RMC Yard, Nandini Layout, Jnanabharathi, Kamakshipalya, Kengeri, Byatrayanapura, Vijaynagar, Rajainagar, Rajgopalnagar and Magadi road.

Curfew imposed in several areas of Bengaluru

Police are analysing the situation in other areas as well. Depending on the situation a decision on whether to impose curfew in other areas will be taken.

The police however clarified that curfew and prohibitory orders have been imposed, but no shoot at sight orders has been ordered.

Read More: Cauvery row (Live): Curfew imposed in nine more police station limits of Bengaluru

The decision to impose curfew in various parts of the city was taken owing to the volatile situation in the city.

A few hours ago one person was killed and another injured in police shooting. The two persons had attacked a police vehicle Hegganahalli and the deceased has been identified as Yogesh.

The police are taking extreme precautions as the situation is extremely volatile. Earlier nearly 52 buses at a depot were torched by a mob of 200 persons. There are 15,000 police personnel on the streets of the city who are aided by ten companies of the Rapid Action Force and also the CRPF.

Violence in the city erupted after the Supreme Court today had refused to stall the release of water to Tamil Nadu. In a modified order, the court had directed Karnataka to release 12,000 cusecs of water to Tamil Nadu until September 20.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...