• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

BSY joins dubious list of shortest serving CMs of India

By Deepika

The 3-day old B S Yeddyurappa government in Karnataka collapsed today, with the chief minister announcing his decision to resign without facing a trust vote. With his resignation, Yeddyurappa joined Jagdambika Pal as the shortest serving chief minister in the nation. Pal served as the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh for three days from in 1988.


In his emotional address to the House, Yeddyurappa said he had many dreams of developing Karnataka. "If only people would have given us 113 seats instead of 104, we would have made this state a paradise."

After delivering his speech in Vidhan Soudha, Yeddyurappa headed to Raj Bhawan in Bengaluru to hand over his resignation to Governor Vajubhai Vala.

His resignation will pave the way for formation of a government led by JD(S) state chief H D Kumaraswamy, who has the backing of the Congress. The newly formed alliance has claimed support of 117 MLAs in the 224-member House with an effective strength of 221.

Here are some of India's shortest serving chief ministers:

Jagdambika Pal

Jagdambika Pal held the shortest tenure as chief minister in Uttar Pradesh in 1998. After the Kalyan Singh government was dismissed, Pal was sworn in as the chief minister late at night on February 21, a decision that was reversed by the high court the next morning, leading him to be dubbed as "the one-day CM".

Satish Prasad Singh

Among others who could sit on the chief minister's chair for barely a few days are Satish Prasad Singh in Bihar. He was made an interim chief minister for only five days from 28 January to 1 February in 1968. He had brought the Congress back to power in the state by defeating the Jana Kranti Dal government.

B P Mandal

B P Mandal, the leader who succeeded Singh, too could hold on to the post for just 31 days.

Om Prakash Chautala

In Haryana, Om Prakash Chautala had served as the chief minister for a period of five days in July 1990 and for 14 days in 1991.

SC Marak

Similarly in Meghalaya, veteran Congress leader S C Marak remained in power only for 13 days in 1998. He became the state's chief minister on February 27, 1998 but could continue for just 12 days when his Congress-led coalition resigned, paving way for United Parliamentary Forum leader BB Lyngdoh to become the next CM.

Janaki Ramachandran

After the demise of M G Ramachandran -- the founder of the AIADMK -- in Tamil Nadu, her widow Janaki Ramachandran had a brief tenure of 23 days as the chief minister in January 1988.

CH Mohammad Koya

In Kerala, Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) leader C H Mohammad Koya could enjoy the post of chief minister for 45 days in 1979. He was the shortest serving CM of the state and its only Muslim one.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more