BSP to contest all 70 Assembly seats in Delhi

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Sept 6: After losing power in Uttar Pradesh in 2012 and now with a firm eye on upcoming elections in the national capital, the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has decided to contest all the 70 Assembly seats in Delhi.

"There will be no tie up with any other political outfit", party supremo Mayawati, who is born in Delhi, said on Friday.

Speaking to reporters outside Parliament House, she said her party would announce the list of candidates in the next 10-12 days.

"There will be no tie-up for the Delhi Assembly election. Our party will field candidates in all the 70 seats. We will announce the candidates' list in the next 10-12 days," Mayawati said.

BSP leader Ram Achal Rajbhar has already been appointed party in-charge of poll-bound Delhi. He is also party in-charge in Uttarakhand.

BSP has been contesting elections from Delhi since 1993 and this will be the party's fifth time to fight for power in the national capital. Delhi is all set to hold Assembly elections in November this year.

There will be no tie up with any other political outfit, says Mayawati.

Ram Chandra Tyagi, who was looking after the party affairs in Delhi, has been shifted to Jharkhand.

In May 2012, Mayawati-led BSP could only win 80 seats in the 403 assembly constituencies. She had managed to garner 206 seats in the 2007 assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh.

OneIndia News

(With PTI inputs)

Please Wait while comments are loading...