BJP nominates candidates for 67 Chhattisgarh seats

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Raipur, Oct 21: After a 9-hour meeting in New Delhi, the BJP central election committee released a list of 67 candidates, out of 90 nominations, for the Chhattisgarh Assembly elections.

While the party has introduced 20 new faces for the elections, 9 sitting MLAs have been denied tickets. Apart from that all ministers, including the Chief Minister Raman Singh (who would be re-contesting from Rajnandgaon) have been re-nominated.

Some of the other ministers who have been re-nominated include the revenue minister Brijmohan Agarwal (contesting from Raipur South), home minister Nankiram Kunwar (contesting from Rampur), irrigation minister Hemchandra Yadav (from Durg), PWD minister Rajesh Munat (Raipur West), speaker Dharmlal Kaushik (from Bilha).

The list has 23 candidates of ST category, 9 of SC category, 17 of OBC and six women candidates.

The minister who had been denied tickets gathered at the BJP headquarters at the party headquarters in Raipur.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...