• search
For New-delhi Updates
Allow Notification  

BJP names candidates for Assembly bypolls in Tripura, Ker, MP


New Delhi, Jun 9: BJP's Central Election Committee (CEC) has declared the names of its candidates for the June 27 by-elections to two Legislative Assembly seats in Tripura and one each in Kerala and Madhya Pradesh.

While veteran BJP leader from Kerala, O Rajagopal, is the BJP candidate for the Aruvikkara Assembly constituency bypoll in Kerala, Chandar Singh Sisodiya has been nominated for the by-election for the Garoth Assembly seat in MP, said BJP general secretary and the secretary of its CEC, JP Nadda.


For the bypolls in Tripura, the party has nominated Moushumi Das for the Pratapgarh (SC) seat and Ashish Das for the Surma (SC) seat.

Rajagopal had unsuccessfully contested the 2014 Lok Sabha polls from Thiruvananthapuram and finished second behind Congress's Shashi Tharoor.

He has been a former minister in the Vajpayee government in 1999. His name was also forwarded by the state unit of BJP.

Sisodiya is the Vice President of BJP's Mandsaur district unit and is the state secretary of the Sondhwadi Rajput Samaj in MP.

The last date for the filing of nominations for the bypolls is June 10 and that for withdrawal of candidature is June 13.

Polling for these Assembly constituencies will be held on June 27 and the counting of votes will be done on June 30.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more