• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

BJP announces list of 20 candidates for Nagaland Assembly elections

By Deepika

BJP on Saturday announced the list of 20 candidates to contest the February 27 Nagaland Assembly elections.

Image for representation only

The BJP has dumped its 15-year-old alliance partner, the ruling Naga People's Front (NPF).

A decision to this effect was taken in New Delhi yesterday at a meeting between BJP president Amit Shah and Rio in the presence of BJP's Nagaland president Visasolie Lhoungu, the party's state media cell convener, K James Vizo said here today.

He said the NDPP would contest 40 of the 60 seats in the state assembly while the BJP would field candidates in the remain 20 seats. The BJP is the only party till date to announce that it will contest the election.

The BJP has selected a woman candidate Rakhila to contest from Tuensang Sadar II Assembly constituency. Rakhila contested 2013 Assembly election on BJP ticket from the same constituency unsuccessfully.

The BJP-NDPP alliance has come as a major setback to ruling NPF which had also been trying to stitch electoral ties with the saffron party. Before forging the alliance with NDPP, the BJP said it would contest in 35 seats and was prepared to give "friendly contest" to the NPF and other political parties in the remaining seats.

Nagaland Assembly
Party 2013 Current Standing
NPF 38 45 Election Date : Feb 27 2018

Counting : Mar 03 2018

IND 08 08
CONG 08 00
NCP 04 01
BJP 01 04
JDU 01 01
OTHERS 00 00
Total 60 59 (1 Vacant)

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X