• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

BJD to have 33% quota for women in allocation of LS seats: Naveen Patnaik


Kendrapara, Mar 10: Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Sunday announced 33% quota for women in allocation of Lok Sabha seats for the BJD party.

Naveen Patnaik made this big announcement during the Mission Shakti convention in Kendrapara.

BJD to have 33% quota for women in allocation of LS seats: Naveen Patnaik

"I am delighted to be in Kendrapara today. Here, I have announced a 33 percent reservation for women in the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections." Assembly elections will also be held in Odisha along with the parliamentary polls. The term of the Odisha Assembly will expire on June 1

This means BJD will field women in 7 of 21 LS seats.

Countdown for 2019 polls begins as EC set to announce dates at 5 pm today

In 1992, Patnaik's father and former chief minister, Biju Patnaik, had brought women to the realm of political decision-making by providing 33-per-cent reservation for them in local bodies.

Thirty-three per cent reservation for women in the Lok Sabha is a long-standing demand that hasn't been implemented due to the lack of political will.

The Women's Reservation Bill was passed by the Rajya Sabha in 2010 but the Lower House never voted on it. This meant that the bill lapsed after the dissolution of the 15th Lok Sabha in 2014.

Phase Dates States Total
First phase April 11 Andhra (25), Arunachal (2), Assam (5), Bihar (4), Chhattisgarh (1), J&K (2), Maharashtra (7), Manipur (1), Meghalaya (2), Mizoram (1), Nagaland (1), Odisha (4), Sikkim (1), Telangana (17), Tripura (1), UP (8), Uttarakhand (5), West Bengal (2), Andaman (1), Lakshadweep (1) 91
Second phase April 18 Assam (5), Bihar (5), Chhattisgarh (3), J&K (2), Karnataka (14), Maharashtra (10), Manipur (1), Odisha (5), Tamil Nadu (39), Tripura (1), UP (8), West Bengal (3), Puducherry (1) 97
Third phase April 23 Assam (4), Bihar (5), Chhattisgarh (7), Gujarat (26), Goa (2), J&K (1), Karnataka (14), Kerala (20), Maharashtra (14), Odisha (6), UP (10), West Bengal (5), Dadra and Nagar Haveli (1), Daman and Diu (1) 115
Fourth phase April 29 Bihar (5), J&K (1), Jharkhand (3), MP (6), Maharashtra (17), Odisha (6), Rajasthan (14), UP (13), West Bengal (8) 71
Fifth phase May 6 Bihar (5), J&K (2), Jharkhand (4), MP (7), Rajasthan (12), UP (14), West Bengal (7) 51
Sixth phase May 12 Bihar (8), Haryana (10), Jharkhand (4), MP (8), UP (14), West Bengal (8), Delhi-NCR (7) 59
Seventh phase May 19 Bihar (8), Jharkhand (3), MP (8), Punjab (13), West Bengal (9), Chandigarh (1), UP (13), Himachal (4) 59
Counting on May 23

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more