• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Bihar polls: LJP announces candidates for 9 seats


New Delhi, Sept 21: In the midst of internal bickering, LJP on Monday announced candidates for nine seats for Bihar polls, fielding former MP and strongman Kaali Pandey from Kuchaykot and Vijay Singh from Chakai Assembly seat over which it was at loggerheads with Jitan Ram Manjhi's HAM.

Announcing the second list of candidates, LJP Parliamentary Board chairman Chirag Paswan said the selection of candidates for first phase of polls on October 12 has been completed for which the date of filing nomination ends on Wednesday.

[Bihar Election 2015: Special Coverage]


With names of nine candidates announced today of which six will will contest in the first phase, LJP has annoucned candidates for a total of 21 seats out of 40, which was alloted under the seat sharing of NDA announced a last week.

LJP President Ram Vilas Paswan's son-in-law Anil Kumar Sadhu had on Saturday raised a banner of revolt against him over denial of ticket for the Bihar Assembly elections and announced his decision to field Dalit Sena candidates in all the districts to defeat NDA nominees.

Asked about the rebellion by a family members, Chirag said the matter would be resolved among the family elders. "I am too junior to him to comment anything publicly. This is a family matter and will be resolved by the elders," he said.

Calling Sadhu an elder brother and a family member, he said that family is a very sensitive thing for him and he won't like to discuss it in public. Sadhu, who wanted to enter the fray from Kutumba (reserved seat in Aurangabad district), was upset over the seat allotted to former chief minister and HAM founder Jitan Ram Manjhi's son Santosh Kumar Suman.

He said he was not given a ticket though his younger brother Pashupati Kumar Paras and Prince Raj, son of Ramchandra Paswan another MP brother of the LJP chief and another relative at Sonbarsa were given tickets.

About the resignation of Vaishali Lok Sabha MP and party general Ramakishore Singh from the party, Chirag said he won't comment on the remarks made by the former MP and this was a matter to be resolved by senior leaders of the party.

"When a person is angry, he says many things. As time passes, things will be normalised," he said. Chirag said that he has only followed the criteria of winnability in giving tickets. "Out of the nine candidates, six are for the first phase.

With this the list for first phase is over now. Remaining three are from second, third and fourth phase," he said. Chirag said the party has reached a consensus with BJP on all 40 seats including on Jamui and Chakai.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more