• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Bihar Election 2020: JDU denies ticket to ex-DGP Gupteshwar Pandey

Google Oneindia News

Patna, Oct 08: Hours after Janata Dal (United) released the first list of 115 candidates for Bihar Assembly Elections 2020, former Director-General of Police(DGP) Gupteshwar Pandey said that he has experienced a lot of struggle in his life and is dedicated to the people of Bihar. This comment comes after he was denied a ticket to contest on Wednesday.

Gupteshwar Pandey

In September, Pandey took voluntary retirement and later joined Nitish Kumar's party. The JD(U) on Wednesday released its list of 115 candidates who will contest the assembly elections in Bihar scheduled to start from October 28. The party has denied tickets to 11 of its sitting MLAs while accommodating the turncoats and name of Gupteshwar Pandey was missing from the list.

Bihar Elections 2020: Assembly wise schedule, date of polling and countingBihar Elections 2020: Assembly wise schedule, date of polling and counting

"I am upset with the phone of many of my well-wishers. I also understand their anxiety and troubles. After I got free, everyone expected that I will contest the election but I am not contesting assembly elections this time. There's no such thing as being frustrated. Be patient. My life has been spent in the struggle. I will be serving the public all my life. Please be patient and do not call me. My life is dedicated to the people of Bihar," Pandey said in a Facebook post written in Hindi.

    Rafale jets roar in the skies on IAF Day 2020 | Oneindia News

    Though Pandey said he would not contest elections this time but it was being reported that he wanted to contest Bihar Assembly polls from Buxar constituency. This time, the Buxar seat went to the BJP as part of the seat share deal with JD(U). The BJP gave a ticket to Parshuram Chaturvedi from Buxar constituency.

    According to reports, JDU has allotted 122 seats and BJP has got 121 seats for Bihar Assembly polls. JDU will give seven seats to Jitan Ram Manjhi-led HAM from its 122 seats while the BJP will give 11 seats to Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP) from its share of 121 seats.

    Elections to the 243-seat Bihar assembly will be held in three phases--October 28, November 3, and 7, and the counting of votes will take place on November 10.

    For Daily Alerts
    Best Deals and Discounts
    Get Instant News Updates
    Notification Settings X
    Time Settings
    Clear Notification X
    Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
    Settings X