Over 50% polling till 4 pm in 6 LS seats in Bihar

Posted By: IANS
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Patna, April 10: A total of 50.36 per cent votes were cast till 4 pm in six parliamentary constituencies in Bihar which went to the polls on Thursday.

The Election Commission in a statement said that Sasaram (SC) seat registered 54 per cent polling, while neighbouring Karakat recorded 51 per cent. Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar is Congress candidate from Sasaram.

Aurangabad witnessed 47.5 per cent voting, while it was 51.64 per cent in Gaya(SC), 49 per cent in Nawada and 49 per cent in Jamui(SC), the statement said.

Voting ended at 4 pm in many parts of the six Lok Sabha constituencies, which were Maoist-hit, while it would conclude at 6 pm in other places.

Voting was put off for a future date in 22 polling stations of Jamui (SC) and Nawada seats in Maoist-hit areas due to security reasons.

Besides Meira Kumar, former Kerala governor Nikhil Kumar, Bihar Speaker Uday Narayan Choudhary, President of Rashtriya Lok Samata Party Upendra Kushwaha, and Chirag Paswan, actor-politician son of Lok Janashakti Party chief Ramvilas Paswan were prominent candidates in the six seats.


Please Wait while comments are loading...