• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Bengal: Actor Moon Moon Sen drubbed 9-time Left candidate Basudeb Acharia in Bankura in 2014


Kolkata, April 15: The schedule for the 17th Lok Sabha election was announced by the Election Commission on Sunday, March 10. The election will be held in seven phases between April 11 and May 19 with the results to be declared on May 23. Of all the states in the country, West Bengal, Bihar and Uttar Pradesh will witness elections in seven phases.

Bengal: Actor Moon Moon Sen drubbed 9-time Left candidate Basudeb Acharia in Bankura in 2014

Here we take a look at all the Lok Sabha constituencies (42) of Bengal and how parties have fared there over the years.

Bengal: TMC has Dum Dum, a seat where all parties had success, under control since 2009

Constituency: BANKURA

Date of election: May 12 (Phase 6)

The Bankura Lok Sabha constituency is located in Bankura district and comprises the following segments: Raghunathpur (SC), Saltora (SC), Chhatna, Ranibandh (ST), Raipur (ST), Taldangra and Bankura.

What happened in 2014:

TMC's actor candidate Moon Moon Sen staged a massive upset in 2014 when she defeated the CPI(M)'s nine-time candidate Basudeb Acharia by a margin of almost a lakh votes. The BJP's Subhas Kumar Sarkar finished third with 2.51 lakh votes and the Congress's Nilmadhab Gupta finished fourth with just over 22,000 votes. Sen polled over 4.8 lakh votes as against Acharia's 3.84 lakh votes.

Bengal: Barasat has become a TMC fortress now after they have won it 4 out of 5 times

Total electors in Bankura constituency in 2014 were 14.98 lakh.

Vote share:

The TMC's vote-share in 2014 was over 39 per cent while the Left got 31.13 per cent. The BJP received 20.31 per cent vote share and the Congress a meagre 1.78 per cent.

History of Bankura constituency results: Moon Moon Sen created history in 2014

After the Congress won Bankura seat six times between 1952 and 1977, the CPI(M) made it one of its strongholds, winning continuously since 1980. In 2014, the TMC won it for the first time.

Candidates contesting from Bankura in 2019:

TMC: Subrata Mukherjee;

Left: Amiya Patra;

BJP: Subhas Sarkar;

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more