• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Battling anti-incumbency, BJP puts up a tough fight


New Delhi, Dec 11: The Congress may have performed far better in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh in the assembly elections as compared to 2013, but one must consider that has been in rule for three terms in two of the three states that went to polls.

Battling anti-incumbency, BJP puts up a tough fight

Both Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Raman Singh were seeking fourth terms in Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh, respectively. In Rajasthan, Vasundhara Raje was seeking consecutive term, while over all it could have been her third term as Rajasthan CM. Given this, the BJP has put up a tough fight.

Election results 2018 LIVE: Mahagathbandhan has failed terribly in Telangana, says Rajnath Singh

In 2013, the BJP won 165 seats in Madhya Pradesh while the Congress came a distant second with 58 seats. This time the contest is close and as of trends at 12.30 pm on Tuesday, Congress was leading in 115 seats while BJP was close behidn with leads in 105 seats. Madhya Pradesh assembly has 230 seats and majority mark is 116.

In Rajasthan, the BJP won 163 seats seats to form the government while Congress could manage just 21. Considering that, this time the Congress is leading in 98 while the BJP is leading in 77.

So, Congress may have done remarkably well in three states, but the BJP is not far behind.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more