Aruvikkara by-poll: Cong candidate S Sabrinathan wins by over 10,000 votes

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Thiruvananthapuram, Jun 30: Congress candidate S Sabrinathan, on Tuesday, has won Aruvikkara Assembly bypoll in Kerala for UDF government by over 10,000 votes.

Counting for the June 27 bypoll, where Kerala's ruling Congress-led UDF and opposition CPI(M)-headed LDF were locked in a stiff contest, was underway today.

Aruvikkara by-poll: Cong candidate wins

Though 16 candidates are in the fray, the main contest was between Sabrinathan, M Vijayakumar (CPI-M) of LDF Opposition and O Rajgopal of BJP.

[Jayalalithaa surges ahead in by-poll vote count]

Right from the start, Sabarinathan was leading by over 6,300 votes over his nearest rival Vijayakumar as per the latest trend.

An estimated 77.35 per cent voters had exercised their votes out of the total electorate of 1,84,210 on Saturday last.

OneIndia News

(With inputs from agencies)

Please Wait while comments are loading...